Want vs. Need

oldmaaaan

Today’s post is pretty related to my last one aaand it’s gonna be a short one!

If  there  I was telling you about how to achieve what you want using the power of your mind, now I’m gonna ask you…Do you actually need that?

My mom asked me today, why after she manage to obtain what she wants, she doesn’t want it anymore? And this was like one of those movie scenes where I answer her back with a question :”Did you needed that?Cause not every time what you want is what you need!” and leave while she looks amazed at me. :))

Take a little time to think at this. As I said before ,life is precious. Why wasting time struggling to get what we want if it’s not what we need.

“Life has a way of taking you past your wants and hopes. Instead, it drops you in front of what you need.”

Shannon L. Alder

 

I invite you to check my Facebook page where you will find my newest artworks! Like please! ^_^

 

 

6 thoughts on “Want vs. Need

  1. “My mom asked me today, why after she manage to obtain what she wants, she doesn’t want it anymore?”

    An alternative response to that question… Why after you manage to get to a restaurant and eat, do you not feel hungry anymore? To me, desire is a lot like hunger. You could even say it’s the same thing, in a way. Hunger is to the body what want is to the soul. Satisfying a desire for something doesn’t necessarily mean it wasn’t worth wanting in the first place though. It could mean that, but it doesn’t necessarily have to.

    Just a thought 🙂 .

  2. A young colleague asked me the other day if I liked philosophy, then mentioned a new philosopher called Allan Watts. She quoted the phrase to me that turned her on to him (she is 18), which I’ll paraphrase here – many people fear letting go and don’t do it until they are forced to, they grasp and cling to what they perceive they need to hang on to until life somehow takes it away; and then they reach the point where they realise that when they do finally let go, that there was nothing to let go of… This post reminds me of this.

  3. Your drawing on aging and arriving at empty wants is a good metaphor for a prevalent human condition. All one needs to see into the future to understand how one’s life will turn out is to talk with open mind and kind heart to the elderly. There one will learn of their success and failure and when one turns to leave, They will have seen what wants and needs can bring.

Leave a Reply

