Creation

plm

I have to be honest and admit that I’ve never been too passionate about painting or drawing. I’ve inherited this gift from my father, but I’ve never been too interested in finding about other painters, the history of art, and stuff like that. It would have been well to be acquainted with different styles and techniques, but ultimately I believe that you must create your own style. That’s why I can say that I don’t have a particular style, and considering that I have been painting for only six months, I suppose that it’s too early for me to find the style that I’d call mine. For now, what defines me most is spontaneity. I’m a bit of a rebel, so I usually believe with equal conviction in two entirely different concepts, which allows me to paint and draw almost anything, anywhere, anytime. I think this is the most rewarding aspect of art making, regardless of what medium we are talking about: to be able to express what you feel, how and when you want to.

36 thoughts on “Creation

  1. This is a very interesting way of working. I’m very much into art myself and hoping to go on to be an illustrator but spontaneity isn’t a skill I possess. I find it very difficult and usually work by looking at what other people do and then developing my own technique 🙂

    • The key is to draw/paint what you like. For instance I love drawing and painting female nudes as I already stated in one of my previous posts. I may not be the best at it but honestly I don’t really care because this is what I like to do most. My advice is to keep doing what you do. It will help you improve your skills and find your style. ^_^

  2. You have an excellent way of looking at your art. To be caught up in what you should do and be instead of focusing on who you are and want to do is a waste of time. I know. I waste plenty of my time that way. The drawing is beautiful.

    • It`s not really a waste of time. Let’s just call it “research period” when you try new styles, new techniques untill you find yours.You just got to keep doing it.Thank you very much!:)

      • Hi! I am so sorry – I did not intend to suggest that what you were doing was a waste of time. If that’s how it sounded, that’s terrible!

        No, I love your methods. Keep on doing and sharing your art! It is lovely.

  3. I just create what I like and do not worry about finding “my style”. If that is your drawing, it is beautiful.

  4. Yes!!!!!!

    I totally agree!!!

    Though, learning from the most amazing artists I’ve met, as much as I believe in freedom to express, I need to follow their guidelines …. I’ll have to write them down. I love working with mechanical pencils , colored pencils, beginning to work with charcoal, kneaded erasers, blending sticks, some watercolor marker, some ink, and of course paper 😉

  5. I get what you’re saying about not looking too hard into art history etc. I actually feel the same way. I just kind of always loved drawing and painting, but I don’t really like sitting down and reading about art history or anything like that. I would hate to go to art school and take art history classes and be told what to draw all day. I just like making art. Great drawing, by the way.

  6. I’m in no ways talented. Not by a long shot. But when I was a kid, I remember watching my grandfather paint stallions, big cats and sceneries and thinking to myself that I would like to do that.
    So my grandfather took me under and every summer we would paint a picture together. But it took me 15 years to learn to draw a horse and I never learned that much about painting. To be honest, as I grew, I didn’t keep up with it. I saw that being able to draw brought some additional headaches like people asking me to do stuff for them. To keep a long story short, I kinda got fed up of it and wished my granddad hadn’t thought me a thing. I do still draw on extremely rare occasions.
    When anyone now sees that stuff that I do and called me talented or an artist, I kinda get mad. To me the word talent means ‘natural ability or gift’, which my being able to draw and paint is neither. It just something that I learned.
    I’m sometimes tempted to pick up a brush or a pencil, but I always manage to fight it and walk away. Who knows. I may get be inspired to do something. Maybe a drawing or painting of that special someone. 😉

  7. But I think the idea of allowing yourself to select and do what you want to in a way that you’ve chosen is what brings out creativity. I think those who dare are the ones that are the best in whatever field they are in.

  8. that’s very much like me , i love art , it’s the only thing that cheers me up. Just because I I said during the interview that I don’t find any interest in art history , I wasn’t able to get in bachelors of fine arts program . NO regrets! 🙂
    but am still stuck with history of literature *yuck * 😦

  9. Absolutely, S. Laura. Is this what I should call you? I wish I could draw. I think my drawing never developed beyond my 6 or 7 years of age. I think it’s an amazing gift what you have here, and you surely must embrace it as you do. Nice work!

    María Paulina Mejía

    • Thank you, Maria! And you can call me Laura. Yes, it’s pretty amazing to picture something in your mind and translate it in details on paper.I’m very grateful for my gift and I’m sure that everybody has one,you just have to find it and make it mean something.^_^

  10. You’re very good at what you do. My dad is an artist. He doesn’t much with it anymore. But I kind of picked it up from him. I love to draw. I just don’t because it doesn’t look like “yours” if you know what I mean. I keep telling myself that practice makes perfect. 🙂 I noticed you followed my blog. I however have moved to a new site. I would love if you followed me there. Thanks. http://www.freelyigive.wordpress.com

  11. Spontaneity is such a beautiful thing. I feel the most at peace and happy with my poems and songs when I write on a whim. As soon as I get the urge, I pull out my phone, write on the back of a receipt, or sometimes even writing it down on my hand so I don’t lose the moment. Sometimes it is our most spontaneous moments that truly reveal what and who we want to be. Your art is beautiful. Keep up the great work.

  12. The eye IS amazing lol! Beautiful work. Feeling equally passionate about two opposite ends of the spectrum proves for a slightly confusing road at times, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

