Rainy London

Rainy London

 

Rainy London, November 2013, Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 35 cm

Buy original (and prints) here.

I’ve always liked London, or, better said, its weather. In spite of the constant rain and moisture, it also exhales warmth and comfort. I try to translate the experiences behind certain situation because I consider that you have to first taste bad in order to appreciate the good parts in life. In this painting, for instance, only the cold rain the pedestrians must face will make them truly appreciate the warmth provided by their homes. And, as a spot of color, I added one of the elements, which in my opinion, represents the color of the city itself: a phone booth.

My advice is that you shouldn’t just stare at the painting; try to imagine yourself trading places with one of the pedestrians on the sidewalk.

49 thoughts on “Rainy London

  1. I love the juxtaposition of that warm red phone booth and the cold rainy night. Just beautiful! The phone booth seems to have a life of its own… I can’t wait to see more of your work.

  2. Pingback: Rainy London | Moments of Awareness

  3. Pingback: Rainy London | Big Chesticles!

  4. I have never been to London but I have interacted with many who resides in London. Surprisingly, whoever I have talked to hates London because of its weather. I like talking to strangers and to know about their country. I seldom get to hear something good about England and it’s only the weather of England that makes the one I have interacted with to crave to move to some other country. I have been waiting for the moment when someone will tell me something good about England or about any part of it and I am delighted that you didn’t need words to say something good about the weather of England. 🙂

    • As I already said in the description, you have to first taste bad in order to appreciate the good parts in life and I also think that there’s a bright side in every unpleasant situation, mood or place.You just have to take time to see it.:)

  5. Pingback: Rainy London | Droplets of Life

  6. Funny you’d say ‘imagine yourself’ as the pedestrian in the street because as soon as I saw the painting that is exactly what I did! I love this – beautiful. I especially like the way the red telephone booth stands out in the darkness of the rainy street. Wonderful use of color.

  7. So, you are Christian’s girlfriend! He has been around ‘the blog’ everywhere, and I ‘see’ him all over.
    As someone who was a Londoner for 60 years, and worked not that far from the location of this picture, I can confirm that you have captured the feel of a rainy evening perfectly. It is reminiscent of Lowry, in a modern setting, and shows a very good eye.
    Just one thing. In London, they are known as phone ‘boxes’, not booths. That would be America…
    Best wishes from Norfolk, Pete.

    • Thank you for your tip,Pete. I have never been to London, actually but I do love the city. It seems very unique, very cozy like that kind of place where you would like to be when you need a moment with yourself.And let me say that you are very lucky. I really hope that one day I will have the chance to visit my dream city!Wishing you all the best!

  8. I have my loves and hates about London, but I am sorry that you have not seen it. I think that it is a place that is essentially a composition of small towns, each with its own identity. Some are best avoided, some downright dangerous, and others simply marvellous. I have written about the city on my blog, here are some links, if it interests you.
    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/things-i-miss-about-london/
    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/thing-i-dont-miss-about-london/
    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/london-life/
    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/london-life-2/
    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/london-life-3/

    If you ever want to ask any questions about London, please feel free to e mail me at;
    petejohnson50@yahoo.com
    Kind regards, Pete.

    • Thank you again, Pete! Well like everything in the world, it`s kinda normal to have his ups and downs. I like to be a lil more optimistic and see mainly the best part of it. I will have a look on your blog and I think that in the very close future I am gonna need your help with some details because I plan to do more paintings with/about London. Regards!

Leave a Reply

